Lacock abbey was founded by The Countess of Salisbury in the reign of King Henry III.
Her husband was one of the Barons who led the revolt against King John. His participation in the revolt explains how Lacock came to possess one of the three original copies of the Magna Carta.
Another famous resident of Lacock was William Fox Talbot in 1835. He was one of the pioneers of photography, and discovered how to make prints from negatives. Visitors to Lacock are often shown the Oriel window from which he took his first successful photograph.
The Village has many stunning architectural designs from early timber framework to the georgian pediment. The tithe barn, 14th century doorways and several old cottages make it a very interesting place to explore. Lacock was donated to the National Trust in 1944 by Matilda Talbot and has recently been used to film sequences from Downton Abbey.
Lacock Village and Abbey is situated less than 15 miles (just over 30 mins drive) from Dorwyn Manor.